Victory Over Depression Blog

(Healing & Victory Through Jesus Christ)

God Does NOT Look At “Dead” Things

image

It definitely breaks the Lord’s heart very deeply when He sees His children behaving as though they are not.  Many Christians walked in a pure love relationship with God when they first asked Jesus to reside in their hearts – becoming born again of spirit.  However, and unfortunately, they have strayed from this intimate, love relationship with God into a relationship with “dead things”.  The apostle Paul states this clearly in his second letter to the church at Corinth.  II Corinthians 11:3 “But I fear, lest by any means, as the serpent (devil) beguiled Eve through his subtlety, so your minds should be corrupted from the simplicity that is in Christ”.

It truly is one of the saddest experiences in the Christian life when a Christian has lost basically all hope of ever living a victorious life in Jesus.  He is so burdened and overwhelmed that he is no longer able to function normally on a daily basis.  Fear, anxiety, and insecurity are now accepted as the norm.  He has basically become depressed, severely if the hurts and rejections of life’s problems become deeply rooted in his heart.  He isolates himself from the world.  Therefore, the Holy Spirit is not permitted to renew his mind.  He has become stigmatized and the joy of the Lord has all but extinguished.  He can only become absorbed with “dead things”.

Yes, I state “dead things”.  Anyone or anything that does not have Jesus Christ as the source or origin is spiritually dead in nature.  The only life God the Father looks at is His Son’s life.  He only sees Jesus when He sees His children.  Jesus crucified everything that is not part of God (especially our sinful nature) on His cross at Calvary.  God now only deals with life – His Life.

An accurate explanation for this type of hypocritical “death” lifestyle that many Christians live is as follows.  They were saved from spiritual death by permitting the life of Christ, as God, to reside in their hearts.  Now that they are restored to life spiritually, they continue to live the Christian life as though they are still spiritually dead.  How sad!  Jesus died for their sins and crucified their sinful natures so He could raise and restore spiritual life (His life as God) back in them.  Romans 5:10 “For if, when we were enemies, we were reconciled to God by the death of His Son, much more, being reconciled, we shall be saved by His life.”

I express my views on depression because I am an expert.  Fortunately by God’s grace, I am no longer depressed.  However, before He delivered me from depression, I was depressed for 17 years (seven of them very severe).  Today Jesus constantly reminds me, very specifically in fact, what it was like.  I kept a daily journal during the depths of my depression years that Jesus still uses today to remind me of events that occurred during that time.  I vividly remember the constant, daily tears of crying myself to sleep every night.  I still see the continuous shaking of my hands from being nervous whenever stress or conflict occurred.  Often these events break my heart, even today.  It is as if they are occurring all over again.  I begin crying in my heart.  Fortunately, Jesus has shown me that His blood has cleansed and removed all this.  I thank Him so much for doing this.

GOD LOOKS AT LIFE – JESUS IN US.

Don’t look at “dead” things.  God doesn’t.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “God Does NOT Look At “Dead” Things

  1. Thank you so much for sharing. I can relate and your writings and videos bring hope to me.

Leave a Reply

