Victory Over Depression Blog

(Healing & Victory Through Jesus Christ)

Finding The Full Gospel (CHRIST IN YOU) In The Midst Of Severe Depression

VOD at Faith At Works CC

Romans 5:10 For if when we were enemies we were reconciled to God through the death of His Son, much more, having been reconciled, we shall be saved by His life

I remember so well the depths of deep depression that made me cry tears daily & hide under the bedsheets every day.  How i wished to die so the Lord could take me out of this nightmare life.  I was living such a double standard – claiming Jesus is victorious and yet overwhelmed by the deep pain of a broken heart.  Being this way for decades only spiraled me into deeper depression.  I was living a fantasy, daydream world that I made reality.  Dangerous ground for sure that Satan controlled me and wasted my years of my life for Christ.

However, the freedom I have since found in Christ is truly marvelous.  For 18 years, I have walked in total victory over depression.  Even though I slump at times, my recovery is quick because I focus on CHRIST LIVING IN ME.

Here is the most important lesson I learned for this victory.  I know this will help many.

Going back to Romans 5:10, God showed me His life saves us, not His death.  They both are necessary for salvation, and can never be substituted.  His death took care of the sin issue.  He forgave the whole world at the cross saying, “Father, forgive them….”  However, does that save us?  No, because we are born spiritually dead.  A spiritually dead person needs spiritual life. 

First, God had to take care of the disease SIN – for the wages of sin is death (Romans 6:23).  Once the disease has been removed, God can now restore spiritual life back to His creation.  WHAT AN AWESOME PLAN OF SALVATION!!!

Jesus spoke so often about life, especially in the gospel of John.  Why?  Because we are dead.  As I heard someone say, “It doesn’t matter if we are a good corpse or a bad corpse, we are still a corpse – dead.  And a corpse stinks.

We come to Christ for His life in us.  Praise God!

By permitting Christ to renew my mind that it is the resurrected life of Christ in me right now, my spiritual growth just took off.  God just raised me to a different level on His love, teaching me to see life through His eyes.

I basically focus that Christ literally and factually lives in me RIGHT NOW.  Therefore, for any decision I make, I depend on Him living in me to make it.  The results are in His hands. The fruit of the Spirit GROWS.  To Christ alone goes all GLORY.

(I pray God use this blog as a means to help & free countless people – To Walk In Freedom.)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

