Victory Over Depression Blog

(Healing & Victory Through Jesus Christ)

April 1, 1979 – April Fool’s Day – My Best Day Ever

Image

April 1, 1979 – 35 years ago today I gave my life to Jesus Christ as my personal Lord & Savior.  I accepted Jesus’ death on my behalf for all my sins.  I accepted His Resurrection to conquer death.  I accepted His invitation for eternal life.  Jesus accepted my invitation to come take up residence in me 35 years ago.

35 years ago is just like yesterday.  For those who remember, other event occurred around that time:

  • On March 28, 1979 the USA had its worse nuclear reactor accident “3 Mile Island” in Pennsylvania.
  • On April 2, 1979, Larry Bird and Magic Johnson opposed each other in the NCAA Championship basketball game.

As I look back 35 years, I confidently say “It was the greatest decision I ever made.”

I was 22 at the time, about to graduate college, and was in the deepest depression of my life.  I did not understand how seriously depressed I was.  I was an insecure adolescent, in an adult body. 

I was getting a crash course in life.  My normal experience at the time was one of daily tears and nervous shaking whenever conflict or stress arose.  I was a people-pleaser and easily gave in to be accepted.  I was quite a basket case.  (Other blogs I have posted on this Victory Over Depression blog give a more descriptive experience of the depression I had.)

As the day of April 1, 1979 came around, I kept trying anything to make sense out of life, to have my broken heart healed.  (Can you relate?)  I was so desperate and how I wish some people really understood the deep pain my heart was experiencing.  No help came.  I almost reached the point of considering suicide.

Fortunately, I came to realize to give God a try.  God got my attention and was knocking on my heart’s door.  I knew about God growing up, but never considered what a relationship is.  I asked God that if He really showed Himself to me and helped me, I would be glad to change my life and give it all to Him.

God honored my prayer.  The next day (April 2, 1979), I was on Cloud 9.  Nothing bothered me anymore.  It was the deepest, personal experience of love in my heart I ever had.  It made me look above all my problems & insecurities because I now knew Jesus lived in me.  This experience stayed with me for a few months.  It was a deep burning passion every day.  It lasted this long because God knew I needed this long.  I was all by myself.  I had no friends to share this with.  It was just God and me.  I knew I had become born again.

April 1, 1979 was April Fool on the devil.  Amen!!!!!

It took many years for me to understand what a Christian needed to be.  I still needed the deep depths of my broken heart healed.  That’s why the depression persisted for another 17 years, despite knowing the Scripture so well.  It was not until I really applied by faith daily the reality of CHRIST IN ME that the healing began. (I have added many blogs sharing this freedom and reality up to where I am today.)

Now I only let Jesus live through me.  I pray that people see me they see JESUS IN ME.

JESUS IN ME is my victory.  35 years later I rejoice in the greatest choice I ever made. 

CHRIST IN ME lives through me.  (May you also choose wisely.)

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “April 1, 1979 – April Fool’s Day – My Best Day Ever

  1. I’ve been depressed for 28 years.
    I am a Christian.
    I’m glad you have been healed.
    He is the only hope.

    • Amen. My prayers for you, Philip.
      May I recommend you keep your focus on CHRIST IN YOU – Jesus living in you permanemtly.

      As you stated, Jesus in the only hope.
      The Apostle Paul says, “CHRIST IN YOU, our hope of glory”.

      My blog and videos keep focusing and saying this.
      God bless you abundantly.
      Praying for you.

  2. See you in heaven Brother.
    Praise God.

Leave a Reply

