Victory Over Depression Blog

(Healing & Victory Through Jesus Christ)

Thoughts Of A Christian With Depression (My Personal Experience)

Image

It is a blessed opportunity to share about the depression I experienced.  The Lord has taught me that I need to pray about every detail of my life because only He is truly responsible for the Christian fruit in my life.  What I share now I pray only Christ shares it through me so only HE can minister to the readers.

Depression is such a very sensitive area that one really needs to experience it to truly understand it.  Yet, I believe it is an unnecessary cross that too many believers bear.  I know from first-hand experience the depths of a broken, wounded heart.  Basically, I was depressed most of my life.  I was not exposed me to much risk growing up.  My personal character never developed and I was clearly not ready for adulthood when the time came.  Once I was on my own the hidden depression symptoms came out.  (They were hidden because I had hidden them from my parents.)  I was not ready for adulthood.  Before I knew what happened, I was a “basket case.”  I shook whenever stress or conflict arose.  Nonstop tears began appearing every day.  I cried myself to sleep every night.  What a shock to the reality of life!  I know many of you reading this can very easily relate.

This all occurred during 1978-79.  After a few months of this type of depression, fortunately, the Lord entered my life.  I became born again.  I truly learned what unconditional love meant.

I grew more in love with the Lord over the next few years, not realizing, though, that I was still hiding/denying my deep hurts and depression.  I married in 1982 and adopted two children in the late 1980′s.  However, I was hiding the depression and, in fact, was not even aware I had it.

Fortunately, we have a loving Savior who always holds onto us.  We know as depressed people that we really never hold onto Jesus.  When Jesus reclaims His inheritance (us), He uproots all garbage out of us.

There wew more problems I encountered during this time.  Sadly it affected m family.  My two children were denied a childhood during these years.  Without going into specifics, I can say 1993 was most depressed year I had ever experienced.  The deepest hurt of my heart just overwhelmed me.  Despite knowing the Word of God and being involved with ministry, depression symptoms from earlier in my life came to the surface again and overwhelmed me.  Daily tears and shaking was common.  Fear of just about anything was easily seen.  I can only say the grace of God made it somehow last for me.

Those of you depressed can easily relate about going off the deep end.  For someone like me who was not ready for adulthood, I sure received a crash course.  But, God had this whole thing planned.  He attempted to get my attention many times, but I missed Him.  So He let my entire life/family collapse.  Now I had no excuse for missing Him.

VICTORY

 He started showing me right in the middle of this time that I misunderstood what salvation means.  I thought that salvation was just “Jesus died for my sins.”  The Lord showed me that is only ½ the gospel.  His death didn’t save me.  His death took care of the sin issue.  I was still spiritually dead, and a spiritually dead person needs spiritual life.  And the only one who had this life was Christ.  His life in me saved me.  Romans 5:10 amplifies this very well.  Romans 5:10 “For if, when we were enemies, we were reconciled to God by the death of His Son, much more, being reconciled, we shall be saved by His life.”  Jesus also frequently (in the gospel of John) speaks about life.  Therefore, I learned I was saved, but I WAS STILL LIVING LIKE I WAS DEAD.  No wonder I really had severe depression as a believer.

I today can confidently say that this is where many depressed believers miss it.  IT IS CHRIST IN US – NOW – THAT IS OUR VICTORY.  We are to train our minds as Paul lived in Galatians 2:20 “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave Himself for me.”

That was it!  I have a new life who is Christ.  Therefore,

1.      I want to see my depression as dead on the cross.

2.      I am, literally, a new creature in Christ.

The victory over depression is not to change our emotions.  It is to change our thoughts, because emotions ALWAYS follow what we think.  We need to meditate our minds on the truth of God’s Word and it will set us free, as Jesus stated.

I assure you that I have NO depression for the last 16 years.  I just now view life differently as a new life in Christ.  It is now a joy totally being a Christian.  God’s love is so deeply rooted in me that rivers of living water do naturally flow out, as Jesus said.

Now the Lord has prepared me (in a ministry I can say) to share, encourage, and support hurting and depressed Christians.  I am totally dependent on Him and His Word.  His compassion is very strong in me for hurting brethren.  I only offer my brethren Him.  He is the only answer.  He is your New Life.  No job is ever too big for Him.

I love our Lord so dearly.  He really is alive.  His only interest is the deep, intimate love He has for each one of us.  As that intimate love grows, He then is so beautifully glorified when like-minded believers come together.

THERE IS VICTORY OVER DEPRESSION.  I am living proof from seventeen severe years.  Many problems still exist to cause me to retreat into depression, but I view life differently now from God’s eyes and not the world’s.  So I have no desire to retreat, even though it still is a struggle.

Victory over depression (especially severe depression) takes time.  Be gentle with yourself.  Begin by training your mind to only see Christ in you, Christ as your new life.  Once you start this, He doesn’t sit passively by.  He moves in.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Thoughts Of A Christian With Depression (My Personal Experience)

  1. Depressed believer on said:

    I sit here at my computer searching for a blog to read and gain new direction. I have woken up, eaten breakfast, read scripture, practiced my memory verses and struggled to brush my teeth. I just can’t get any motivation to get a shower and get dressed. I have not prayed and my prayer life is really struggling if not non existent. I sit here trying to get motivated to do something more but there is none. I have suffered from depression most of my adult life and I am on medication. At times I have suffered from severe depression. I am a Christian in that I have accepted Christ He as my Lord and Savior but I do not have His joy or experience His peace. When I attempt to get up and get a shower I just wonder why I am doing it and for what reason. Apathy is stronger than motivation. I have literally forced myself to get a shower in days before today and did things around the house to stay busy but this doesn’t help me feel better and I wonder why I am doing them and what is the end result of it all. Tomorrow I will do the same things and will not make any progress in feeling better. I have had therapy. I have had my meds changed with only a brief period of being more motivated. I listen to Christian radio most of the time, but also watch TV and play video games alot. I was fired from my job three years ago and have been chronically unemployed since then and am without a job now and have been since last spring. I am on the verge of being at retirement age. My Dad died in 2009 and my Mom died late last year. so there have been some traumatic events occuring in my life in the last 5 years. I eat too much and am overweight. I exercise very little. Most days I do not open the shades and it doesn’t help if it is sunny or warm outside. One of the verses that I have memorized is Galations 2:20 “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body is by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.” So I know I need to have more faith and I do pray about that. I do have lots of friends and family who support me. I believe that God is not answering my prayers and that it is taking too long to obtain greater faith. I do get out a couple of times a week during the day to visit with friends or go to the grocery store. I know I need to correct my thinking in that there is where my feelings come from and thet my actions will follow.

    • Your experience in many ways has been mine – solitary, darkness, deep depression for decades.
      You also know all the answers. So you are right there for Christ to give you the victory.

      I want to challenge you to rethink your last comment about increasing your faith.
      That is true is a certain context, but I believe your victory should not be on your amount of faith, but on the OBJECT OF YOUR FAITH.
      The Object Of Your Faith, of course, is Jesus Christ.

      My challenge to you is to physically see CHRIST IN YOU everyday as your new life.
      Christ In Me is where my victory stands. (I know for yours also.)
      By actually looking more at CHRIST IN YOU, your faith increases naturally and easily.
      So focus more on Christ in you and less on the bigger faith you need. The faith comes natural as Christ in you becomes more real in your everyday life.

      Here also is another challenge. The following helped me tremendously grow into the victory.
      It was like God told me, “Bob, you are born again, but still living like you are DEAD.”

      “I crucified your depression and all its consequences 2000 years ago. They are all dead and buried in my eyes. When I rose from the dead, I left the depression DEAD in My tomb. Therefore, I cannot help you if you look at DEAD Things.”

      “Bob, I deal with LIFE, specifically the life of My Son Jesus in you. CHRIST IN YOU is whom I see. I want you to begin to see that all the more – JESUS IN YOU.”

      “Remember I cannot help you if you look at Dead Things. You give them life. Look to Jesus in you (LIFE)instead and He will live His life through you.”

      Hope this helps.
      God bless.

Leave a Reply

