Victory Over Depression Blog

(Healing & Victory Through Jesus Christ)

Avoiding Deep Hurts & Trials

Image

When one goes through severe trials and is not prepared to handle them, one of the easiest recourses to is run away and avoid facing them.

This is what occurred to me. I had very severe depression for 17 years as a Christian. I covered myself up with religious activity so I could avoid my heart problems that God wanted to heal.

Fortunately, and believe me it was very painful, God removed all props and systems of support that I hid behind. I had to face my depression, fear, and insecurity alone and head on. This was a time I could not hide anymore.

I withdrew from Christian ministry and sank deeper into depression. I knew Christ was the only answer so He would have to prove it again. For the next 3-4 years, my life was an emotional wreck. I met NO believer who understood what I was going through.

I only had Jesus, and I thank Him I did. He delivered me over that 3-4 year period that I now only see His love, mercy and grace as my motivation.

Jesus is my new life and I only desire people to see Him as God in me. Nothing else matters. Whatever issues I now become involved in, I only focus that His love motivates me to be involved. I truly thank Him for His mercy and grace.

To be healed of this severe depression was not instantaneous. It was very long, challenging and very painful. However, there is true life and joy in the end. My experience was depression was worth every day. I never desire to go through it again, but, as I look back, it truly was worth it.

All believers MUST go through facing their deep hurts and trials. The longer they delay the longer will be the heart healing God wants to do. They will become like wilderness Christians walking around in circles in the desert – making little or growth in their Christian life.

Because life is in Canaan NOW and only Christ can be the Christian in them. If they refuse, they will die in the wilderness and are probably very absorbed in current issues with very limited love of Christ coming from them.

It truly involves dying to self so the resurrected life of Christ becomes real and experienced in my daily life. John 12:24 (paraphrased) “Unless a grain of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains a grain of wheat. If it does die, new life will be produced.”

As I heard someone state so well, “Jesus gave His life in death as a man in order to share His resurrected life as God in us now.”

There truly is no greater joy in life than to experience the life of God Himself flowing is us and through us. This love is what the hurting world is to see, not the carnal Christians who are hiding their own pain.

It is Christ in you waiting to heal you and then live His life through you.

Keep your eyes on Christ in you so you can face your fears and hurts with Jesus, and not alone. Jesus in you wants to heal your broken heart.

See Christ in you as your new life.

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Avoiding Deep Hurts & Trials

  1. I hope 2014 proves to be a good year for you and yours!

Leave a Reply

