Victory Over Depression Blog

(Healing & Victory Through Jesus Christ)

What About Forgiveness?

Forgiveness is one of the challenging and difficult areas that Christians are to deal with.

It’s easy to say “I forgive,” but it means nothing until “the rubber hits the road.” When you can actually “forgive” from the heart, that means God has done a deep healing and restoration in your heart. For it can only be the pure love of Jesus that has come from the heart to forgive.

I still have issues with forgiveness. However, God has grown me through many of my own personal issues (including severe depression). It has become easier for me to forgive in some areas, but there is still a work in progress to do.

To assist many in this area, I have included a set of quotes or lessons that I have learned. These have assisted me greatly in forgiving myself and others. I pray God will use them to assist you and to see your situations more through God’s eyes of forgiveness. After all, God has forgiven us through Jesus Christ. Who are we then not to forgive as He has to us?

************************************************************************************************************

“Forgiveness of the inexcusable is a must because God forgave the inexcusable in you.”
– C. S. Lewis

************************************************************************************************************

“Forgiveness is me giving up my right to hurt you for hurting me.”

************************************************************************************************************

“Father, forgive them; for they do not know what they are doing.”
– Jesus on the cross (Luke 23:34)

************************************************************************************************************

Put on a heart of compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience; bearing with one another, and FORGIVING EACH OTHER,
whoever has a complaint against anyone;
JUST AS THE LORD FORGAVE YOU. SO ALSO SHOULD YOU.

– Colossians 3:12-13

************************************************************************************************************

1) Have you forgiven yourself?
2) Have you forgiven those who hurt you?
3) Have about those you have hurt?
4) Do you need to ask them for forgiveness?

************************************************************************************************************

“It is impossible to forgive without the person of CHRIST IN YOU doing the forgiving.”

************************************************************************************************************

If you are having difficulty forgiving, try to view it this way – through God’s eyes.

1) Am I (Jesus) your Lord and Savior?
2) Do you trust Me for your life?
3) Do I know what is best for you?
4) Therefore, if I say, “You must forgive as I have forgiven you,” what is holding you back from forgiving yourself and others?

************************************************************************************************************

I recommend you take these quotes and lessons to heart. Permit the Holy Spirit to minister the words of life they are. God wants to heal the depths of many broken hearts. Forgiveness is one of the major areas God needs to heal people with.

The beauty of the healing is that God Himself is the one doing the healing and the forgiveness. I personally assure that the healing is a great experience. For nothing can be done with Jesus in us.


“It is impossible to forgive without the person of CHRIST IN YOU doing the forgiving.”

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “What About Forgiveness?

  1. Shameless plug for my guest blog post on Chad Jones’ blog relating to how the Holy Spirit finally managed to allow me to forgive my father: http://randomlychad.com/2013/06/choosing-to-forgive-my-pop-a-guest-post-by-joe-sewell.html

Leave a Reply

