Victory Over Depression Blog

(Healing & Victory Through Jesus Christ)

From Spiritual Death (Flesh) To Spiritual Life (CHRIST IN YOU)

Look closely how the apostle Paul uses the Red Sea crossing,  of the Israelite Exodus from Egypt, to clearly symbolize our crossing from spiritual death in Adam to spiritual life in Christ and through Christ.

I Corinthians 10:1-4 “Moreover, brethren, I would not that ye should be ignorant, how that all our fathers were under the cloud, and all passed through the sea: and were all baptized unto Moses in the cloud and in the sea; and did all eat the same spiritual meat; and did all drink the same spiritual drink: for they drank of that spiritual Rock that followed them: and that Rock was Christ.” 

Here God shows how they passed from death to life.  They were baptized with Moses as they walked through the place of death, the Red Sea.  To baptize basically means to immerse into something and come out as something else.

What an outstanding example of our own walk in Christ from death to life!  As the Israelites are baptized in Moses, we are baptized (immersed) in Christ.  We immerse with our old Adamic nature, spiritually dead and sinners in need of forgiveness.

Jesus delivers us by bringing us out and giving us a new identity, a new Godly nature (Romans 6:4-5 “Therefore we are buried with Him by baptism into death: that like as Christ was raised up from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life.  For if we have been planted together in the likeness of His death, we shall be also in the likeness of His resurrection.”

Our new nature is a new life.  We truly are risen from the dead spiritually.  It is an EXCHANGED life.  Jesus takes our spiritually dead, sinful life and gives God’s life to live in us in exchange.  Yes, it is an exchanged life, not a changed life.

You can never change your flesh for improvement.  You can never train your flesh to act holy.  Take my words deeply into your heart about the exchanged life (not a changed life).

Be convinced why Jesus had to give you a new nature, His very self.  This is the victory that awaits you – Christ residing in your heart everyday.  Stop attempting to improve or “Christianize” your flesh.  Your flesh is your enemy against God.  You must be convinced of this truth.

I remember frequently attempting to train my flesh to behave “religiously,” like a good Bible-believing Christian.  Yet, our flesh sure comes out at the spur of the moment.  One incident was when I trained my mouth not to curse.  I did so well in my self-effort that for over one year I never cursed.  Then one day when my car broke down, I blurted out, “God Dammit!”

WOW!  What a shocking revelation I learned about my flesh!  It sure does come out suddenly and abruptly.  I had forgotten James 3:8 about taming my tongue.  “But the tongue can no man tame; it is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison.” 

Another incident occurred when I had a spectacular time of worship with the Lord.  I was praising Him with worship music, using my headphones, while walking through crowded Times Square in New York City.

I was completely oblivious to the hectic noise of car horns, traffic, and large crowds.  This went on for about one hour.  The Lord truly took me into His presence as I walked through Times Square singing loudly and raising my hands to praise Him.

Then I went to cross a corner when the walk sign was in my favor.  I was halfway across the street when suddenly this large, taxi limousine just cut me off turning the corner and nearly hit me.  I remember my chest brushing up against its side.  It must have missed me by a few inches.

I was praising the Lord at that time and was suddenly shocked at my circumstance.  I vividly remember saying to myself as I was nearly hit, “What the hell is this!”

Then while I was praising God and because it was a long limo, I smacked the side window very hard with the palm of my hand.  The next moment I saw the limo pull over and the driver exiting.  I said to myself, “O Lord, what did I do!  Lord, you better get me out of this one.  I sure blew it.”  I turned the volume up and began walking at a faster pace, never turning back.  I certainly was stunned.

Later, I asked the Lord in my spirit, “What was that all about?”  I did not understand how I could be deeply in the presence of God and experiencing His love and, in the next instant, have my flesh quickly erupt.  God replied in my spirit, “Bob, we had excellent fellowship time.  You truly were in My presence.  Your heart was pure before Me.  Therefore, I can show you how deeply I love you.  However, Bob, you had to come back down to reality.  I purposely set this incident up to remind you that you are not in heaven with Me yet.  You still live on earth and an evil, sinful nature called your flesh still resides in you.  Bob, it can come out at any moment.  I wanted to remind you of this so you can remember to be totally dependent on Me for everything, 24 hours per day.

I gladly obliged with our Lord.  (Our Lord certainly does have a sense of humor when He teaches us specific lessons.)

So do not be shocked at your flesh any longer.

See your new nature in Christ.  With your new nature, you have a new identity. 

Everything truly is new; it all begins with Jesus.

Glorious! 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “From Spiritual Death (Flesh) To Spiritual Life (CHRIST IN YOU)

  1. ‘So do not be shocked at your flesh any longer.’ 10 words of freedom, my brother. Wow. Thank you for unhooking the shame that still follows me around sometimes. I appreciate your words of truth.

  2. Delighted Christ in you is doing a magnificent work.
    With Christ In You, victory & freedom grow forth.

Leave a Reply

