Victory Over Depression Blog

(Healing & Victory Through Jesus Christ)

NORMALCY For A Christian (A Word For NOW)

Jesus challenges us to be “in the world but not of the world.”

This is one of the most challenging responsibilities to do on a daily basis.  One can be very successful for a repeated number of days.  However, we are called to do it everyday.  What occurs is that often we fail, sometimes very often.

This has been one of the most important lessons for me in my walk with Jesus.  I am sure many of you can relate to what I will share.

I put so much into living daily living as a Christian.  What happens at times is I reach a “bump in the road” that stops me for a few seconds.  Other times those bumps are actually “red lights.”  That is my current situation.  Yesterday, I hit a “red light” that made me realize I was so burned out – physically, mentally, and spiritually.  It stigmatizes me to cease doing anything.

I want to shut out from the world.  One must be careful because when you shut yourself out from the world, it is easy to become too lethargic and depressed – a gateway for the devil.

My “bump in the road” and “red light” have taught me that I must always remember to seek God during this shutdown time.

I need to seek Jesus intimately to keep Him real in the midst of all this darkness. 

I realize I need to be more dependent on Jesus than ever before. 

I realize God can take any darkness away at the snap of the finger.  God can also permit any darkness to halt me in my tracks.

One other thing I realize is how much God continually loves me.  God desires to grow me in character, humility, confidence, trust, and the fruit of the Spirit.

So as much as I feel stigmatized right now, I want to seek God more intimately than ever before.

This is NORMAL CHRISTIAN LIVING.  As I go further into my daily walk into the world (my job, my family, my friends), I bring more of “Christ in me” with me.  That way people will see more of “Christ in me” living through me.  My red lights and bumps will be less as I have grown more in Christ.  That is what I am learning more of being “in the world but not of the world.”

So your bumps and red lights are NORMAL in Christian living.  It’s what you do in the midst, during them that matters much.  Seeking Jesus intimately, even when you don’t want to, will slowly become more a top priority when your heart continues to be open to His love.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

