Victory Over Depression Blog

(Healing & Victory Through Jesus Christ)

What Is Your Normal Christian Wilderness?

Reality for Christians include experiences of trials, sufferings, and temptations that Christians go through every day.  In many ways, I am sure you can relate to them to your own life.  Some are very common to believers; others are much more serious.  My prayer is you see the reality of them and can ACCEPT your own trials, sufferings, and temptations.

I state “accept” because trials, sufferings, and temptations will occur.  That is a guarantee.  I only recommend that you permit the Holy Spirit to teach you the difference between unnecessary trials, sufferings, and crosses and those approved by God.

There sure is a significant difference.  I would be delighted if the Christian life would be easier.  However, the reality is the Christian life involves suffering.  I am quite sure you prefer to hear it “like it is” instead of a fantasy type of Christian life that all always goes well (with no suffering in this life) because Jesus died for our sins.

Actually, the “all always goes well” depends on how you view it – either through your eyes or God’s eyes.  Through our eyes, we know how shallow this lasts, how superficial it is.  Through God’s eyes, it certainly always goes well as His love roots into us more and more.

God grows us through our trials.  That is why the Christian walk is the painful road of Calvarya walk of death to the things that keep us from Him.  As the apostle Paul writes in Romans 8:28 “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to His purpose.”

Yes, Calvary is a walk of death, but the joy of the resurrection waits beyond the cross.  Glory to His Glorious Name!

The significant difference is we must always view our life through God’s eyes.  As any loving parent, our Father definitely knows what is best for us, His children.  Therefore, our Father consistently prunes us for our better.  He truly desires to be glorified through us.  That’s why pruning is necessary.

See beyond your pain and your darkness to Jesus.  You must see it this way – for this is how Jesus sees it.  Otherwise, you will miss the importance of God pruning you and, instead, will react like Satan is tempting or tormenting you.  Your “normal” Christian Wilderness will become an “abnormal” one.  Only the Holy Spirit can reveal to you the depths of your own personal walk and trials.

Be convinced also that in the Normal Christian Wilderness, God does not leave us on our own during our trials, sufferings, and temptations.  He imbeds in us a deeper sense of joy, peace, love, and confidence that He is always with us.

I assure you that this love and joy is God’s desire for you to experience daily.  For the last 16 years, this has been my personal joy to experience and grow into His love.  Jesus is well worth it.  That is why it is critical and a necessity to bring the person of Jesus into the midst of all your trials.

And that, my dear friend, is the Normal Christian Wilderness:

  • To have a true, heart peace in Jesus under severe trials and sufferings.
  • To enjoy His love on a daily basis.
  • To neither deny nor ignore trials and sufferings.
  • To rejoice in our trials and sufferings as we focus on God pruning us.
  • To praise God in the midst of them.
  • To face the reality of life as it really is – not to live in a fantasy world.
  • To understand God-approved crosses and man-made ones.
  • To use God’s wisdom to know the difference.

This is very real, brethren.  To experience Jesus daily on a personal level is the highest fulfillment in life.  You can’t get better than Jesus.  This is the Normal Christian Wilderness that is God’s will.  When you are touched by the personal love of Jesus, you are so deeply moved to love Jesus back.  Just imagine experiencing this personal love frequently throughout each day.  Amen!  You will not desire anything less than Jesus.  Why should you?

Psalm 37:4 “Delight thyself also in the Lord; and He shall give thee the desires of thine heart.”  I assure you that when you begin experiencing “delighting yourself in the Lord,” the Lord Himself will become the only desire of your heart.  Amen!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “What Is Your Normal Christian Wilderness?

  1. This is great stuff here. I feel the same way about this as you do. I have found that by rejoicing in the miraculous works of Jesus Christ in my life, things don’t seem so bad. As long as I remember to put Him first then everything else falls into place. I think you and I talk about a lot of the same things on our blogs and I would love to exchange posts sometime if you are ever interested. You keep up the amazing work my brother in Christ for you are changing lives here! Great job and God bless you!
    Much love and abundant blessings,
    Your sister in Christ,
    Kimmy
    http://www.withoutalabel.me
    (I place my blog address here because it is not linked to my WordPress account. The one that is linked is one I did a guest post for a while back and for some reason i can’t dissociate my name from it. Not that I really want to it would just be nice to have my own WordPress account not associated with anyone else… if ya know what I mean. Sorry for rambling. Have a great day =D)

    • Amen.
      Great word, Kim.
      Please feel free anytime to post one of your blogs to my site.
      It’s all and only about Jesus.

      • I would be honored to share posts with you any time! I am caring for an elderly dog at the moment and am spending as much quality time as possible with her before it is too late. Once I get a free moment I would love to write a post for you. I can’t quite tell you when that will be but I am not going anywhere… That is unless the Rapture happens. In the mean time feel free to use any of the posts I have already made on my http://www.withoutalabel.me site.
        God Bless,
        Kimmy

  2. Reblogged this on Kimberly McPherson's Blog and commented:
    A great post by VictoryOverDepression.wordpress.com that I thought needed to be reblogged. I hope you enjoy it. Much love to you all!

Leave a Reply

