Victory Over Depression Blog

(Healing & Victory Through Jesus Christ)

Thoughts On A Christian Being Depressed (Part 1)

Depression is like a ghost that many Christians wrongly believe should be kept in one’s closet.  I pray you begin to see the real truth about depression – especially how Jesus desires to heal totally by growing those who have it through it.  There surely is victory over it.  I am a living witness.

Depression is one of the most misunderstood subjects in the Christian life.  Because it is so painful, there is an overwhelming fear to talk about it.  I have found for myself that I had refused to talk about it because I did not meet ONE Christian who really understood what I was going through.  So I did not share with anyone because I feared being condemned or judged.

After all, the phony mindset in the Christian life is a believer should not be depressed.  Depressed Christians are basically told they should be ashamed of themselves for being depressed.  Other Christians ostracize them, guilt them, and label them.  You will usually hear comments such as these:

  • Where is your faith?
  • What’s the matter with you?  Didn’t Jesus die for your sins?
  • Snap out of it.
  • You better confess and repent for being depressed.
  • What’s the secret sin in your life.
  • You better pray more.
  • You better read your Bible more.

Sad, but true, it is in the Body of Christ.  Well, that’s a lie!  Many Christians have depression.  Christians even attempt suicide.  If one has never experienced depression, how can he/she relate to one who has?  How much more compassion and tolerance we need in the body of Christ on this subject!

I, personally, suffered depression most of my life.  I am 55 now and became a born again Christian in 1979.  My depression worsened during the years 1988-1995.  What a nightmare!  Crying every night going to sleep.  Shaking whenever stress or conflict arose.  Depressed people look to be accepted.  So we do anything to be accepted by our peers.  We look to avoid rejection at any cost.

However, God is so faithful.  The path God leads one down He already led me down.  Stillness and solitude with Jesus leads to one’s victory.  Today, I have only slight traces of depression.

Jesus renewed my mind that He is my new life.  My old self is dead.  So if I want to get to know me, I should get to know Him.

Circumstances are readily there to cause me to retreat back into depression.  However, why should I when I have Jesus Himself living in me RIGHT NOW as my new life?  I choose to look at my new life as His child.  Why do I want to crawl around in the dirt like a worm when God has made me a butterfly – that I can now fly as a child of light?

However, healing and victory do take time.  That’s why it is a step by step walk.  One grows into depression.  God needs to personally walk the believer out of depression – one step at a time.  As long as the believer focuses on that Christ in the ONLY answer, he/she has begun the correct walk.  God will do the rest because He is so faithful.

I have so much more to share.  So stay tuned for Part 2 in the very near future.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Thoughts On A Christian Being Depressed (Part 1)

  1. I absolutely loved your blog! You hit the nail on the head. I am an overcomer of General Anxiety Disorder and mild depression. God is so incredibly faithful! I would love to share this on my blog with you as the guest blogger if you’re interested?

  2. Jeanie Solomon on said:

    This is really blessing me. One step at a time and one day at a time. With Christ living in me He will walk me through it to victory over depression. Amen. Blessings!

  3. Depression is very real even among Christians and the ‘church” needs to recognize that and implement ways or program to help people overcome this rising problem.

Leave a Reply

