Victory Over Depression Blog

(Healing & Victory Through Jesus Christ)

Wilderness Christians – Actions In The Wilderness Part 2

Read also the following verses from Psalm 106 to amplify the golden calf and the children of Israel.

Psalm 106:19-26 They made a calf in Horeb, and worshiped the molten image.  Thus they changed their glory into the similitude of an ox that eateth grass.  THEY FORGOT GOD THEIR SAVIOUR, WHICH HAD DONE GREAT THINGS IN EGYPT; wondrous works in the land of Him, and terrible things by the Red Sea.  Therefore He said that He would destroy them, had not Moses His chosen stood before Him in the breach, to turn away His wrath, lest He should destroy them.  Yea, they despised the pleasant land (Canaan/Christ now), THEY BELIEVED NOT HIS WORD: but murmured in their tents, and hearkened not unto the voice of the Lord.  Therefore he lifted up His hand against them, to overthrow them in the wilderness.

Nothing can ever be hidden from God.  Look at His words to Moses on Mount Horeb.  Observe the accuracy of God’s response regarding the god of gold. 

Exodus 32:7-9 And the Lord said unto Moses, Go, get thee down; for thy people, which thou broughtest out of the land of Egypt, have corrupted themselves: They have turned aside quickly out of the way which I commanded them: they have made them a molten calf, and have worshiped it, and have sacrificed thereunto, and said, These be thy gods, O Israel, which have brought thee up out of the land of Egypt.  And the Lord said unto Moses, I have seen this people, and, behold, it is a stiff-necked people.

If you read further in Exodus 32, God was prepared to consume them all.  Is He not a truly jealous god?  Does He not love you so dearly that He wants to attract you away from sin (your golden calf) and to Him only?  He will surely swallow up your flesh.  This is the kind of God I choose to love so very intimately.  How about you?

You see how quickly Israel forgot the great things God did in Egypt.

How quickly have you forgotten what God has done for you? 

I assure you God will bury the carnal Christian in the wilderness.  You will be but a quick, distant memory as a child of God.  You will only be one particle of sand blown away by the wind, blown away deeper into the wilderness, a forgotten memory in Christ.  Your choice!  You will have no legacy for Christ living through you.  In the future, people will probably have to examine closely and thoroughly to determine if you were truly saved.  You know if you are living in the wilderness.  Look at what your future will hold.  For His own sake, enter Canaan.

You can have this life in the wilderness.  I would never change places with you.  For myself, I recall very vividly living in the wilderness.  No more wilderness have I chosen; only the resurrected Christ, as God in me, will suffice. 

Romans 8:14-17 For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, they are the sons of God. For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, Abba, Father.  The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God: and if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ; if so be that we suffer with Him, that we may be also glorified together.

Exodus 15:26 – If thou wilt diligently hearken to the voice of the Lord thy God and wilt do that which is RIGHT IS HIS SIGHT, and wilt give ear to His commandments, and keep all His statutes, I will put none of these diseases upon thee, which I have brought upon the Egyptians: for I am the Lord that healeth thee.

What an intense instruction God provided to Moses (“…do that which is right in HIS sight….”) in comparison to the children of Israel doing what was right in their own eyes.  Yes, quite a difference the Word of God makes!  Doing what is right is His sight causes His spiritual protection and authority to cover and control us.  These diseases in Exodus 15:26 are not only physical, but spiritual and emotional.

How many Christians would have less spiritual, emotional, and physical illnesses if they learned to apply daily faith to total trust, confidence, and dependence in Christ to live the life of God through them?  We provide ourselves a generosity of unnecessary crosses; but limit the abundance of the life of God in us that Jesus proclaims is always and readily available.

One personal experience, that the Spirit continuously impresses on my mind, occurred when I was experiencing severe depression while living in the wilderness.  I knew Scripture very well and often quoted it.

This one time at work, I invited a sister-in-Christ to lunch.  She was a ‘temp’, a temporary employee, who had recently begun work for my company.  She gladly accepted my invitation, anticipating fellowship in the body.

It is remarkable, as I look back at that luncheon that I cannot recall what we discussed.  All I remember is I turned it into a heated debate and was proudly quoting Scripture so well.  I was proud that I made mincemeat out of my sister, confident because I knew the Word so well.  Lunch ended abruptly amid much strife; but I continued walking around work proud of proving her wrong – wrong only in my eyes.

Have you a similar experience now or before in your Christian walk?  Do you boast in your Scriptural knowledge, especially at chopping someone else to pieces?

I never saw this sister for the remaining two years I was to live in the wilderness.  God was truly delivering me into Canaan and His wonderful love and grace.  Yes, grace is the most effective word to describe my freedom.  I was falling in love with Jesus all over again.  I truly was enjoying life as a Christian for the very first time since my salvation 17 years earlier.  I absolutely loved it.  I understood what growing in grace truly meant.

After approximately one year in growing in this liberty, grace, and love of Christ, God flashed the luncheon with this sister often before my mind.  He impressed relentlessly that specific day and time.  I was living in the wilderness then; I was living in Canaan now.

The Holy Spirit made me see the difference and it was obvious that He requested I acknowledge and repent of my idiocy at this luncheon.  I said, “Jesus, I am truly sorry.  I really acted like a jerk.”  God replied, “That is all I wanted to hear.  Thank you.

I could not understand the meaning of this except that it was part of my growth in the Lord.  I had not seen this sister for probably two years and could not understand why God showed this to me now.  Exactly one week later I was to find out.  In a Christian bookstore, I met her unexpectedly face-to-face.  I was so shocked that my flesh wanted to run and hide.  (Does this not happen to you?)

However, the Spirit was taking control of my life and it was very accommodating for me to apologize directly to her.  Her reply convinced me of several important things: the grace of God, the need to always intercede, and the importance of never taking the Lord or anyone in the body for granted.  She replied, “Bob, there is no problem.  When I left the luncheon that day, I prayed that the Lord would lift the veil from your heart.”  Well, He did two years later.  I have remained a close friend with her since that time.  Even though I have lost touch with her recently, she is always very dear to my heart.  I am always interceding for her.  If she happens to read this, she will immediately recognize it.  Thank you, sister, for letting the resurrected Christ live through you.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

