Victory Over Depression Blog

(Healing & Victory Through Jesus Christ)

SEEING JESUS AS YOUR VINE (Part 2 of blog series Growth In The Vine)

Seeing Jesus As Your Vine

John 15:1-17 “I am the true vine, and My Father is the husbandman. Every branch in Me that beareth not fruit, He purgeth it, that, it may bring forth more fruit.  Now ye are clean through the word which I have spoken unto you.  Abide in me, and I in you, As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in Me.  I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth for much fruit: for without Me ye can do nothing.  If a man abide not in Me, he is cast forth into the fire, and they are burned.  If ye abide in Me, and My words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you.  Herein is My Father glorified, that ye bear much fruit; so shall ye be My disciples.  As the Father hath loved Me, so have I loved you: continue in My love.  If ye keep My commandments, ye shall abide in My love; even as I have kept My Father’s commandments, and abide in His love.  These things have I spoken unto you, that My joy might remain in you, and that your joy might be full.  This is My commandment, That ye love one another, as I have loved you.  Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.  Ye are My friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you.  Henceforth I call you not servants; for the servant knoweth not what his lord doeth: but I have called you friends; for all things that I have heard of My Father I have made known unto you.  Ye have not chosen Me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in My Name, He may give it you.  These things I command you, that ye love one another.” These Scripture verses should be read every day slowly, so the Holy Spirit can penetrate the deeper meanings of love that Jesus wants your heart to see.  Outstanding!

Many in the USA have rarely ever seen a vine up close.  Just by looking at it, it is difficult to even determine what is the vine and what are the branches.  But, fortunately, the gardener knows.  And for the Christian, thank God we have a great, loving and caring gardener Who always knows how to care for His vine.

A vine must be treated very tenderly for its fruit to reach maturity.  All life comes from the vine itself; a branch has no life in itself.  A branch must be totally dependent, for its life, on the life that flows from the vine.  Growing on its own, a branch will grow wildly and uncontrollably – and eventually die.  Therefore, the gardener must apply “pruning” to bring the branches back under his care and direction.  Such an excellent analogy this is to our own Christian walk.  The love and grace of Jesus causes the Father to prune and discipline us when we begin wandering (uncontrollably and wildly) into areas of sin.  The pruning causes us to return under the Father’s care and direction.  That is why Jesus repeatedly said to “abide in Him” and to “abide in His love.”

This is one aspect of the life of the vine we will look at – the concept of “pruning.”  By examining “pruning,” we will see quite extensively how prolonged the pruning process is and how uncharacteristic pruning the vine is when the fruit looks ripe for eating.  Also, we will look at “abiding.”  This will reveal helpful insight as to the meaning of “abiding in Christ” and “abiding in His love.”

From the parable of The Vine And The Branches, Jesus is clearly communicating the need that we (as branches) must be totally dependent on Him, His life in us (as the vine).  There are no exceptions.  When Jesus stated that “Without Him we can do nothing,” that means nothing.  And you can’t get lower than “nothing.”  Jesus is definitely the Vine of Life – God Himself.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

