Victory Over Depression Blog

(Healing & Victory Through Jesus Christ)

What Is Genuine Love?

GENUINE LOVE is actually a person.  GENUINE LOVE is the author of it and the only source of it.

His name is JESUS CHRIST.

As Christians, we genuinely want good friendship with brethren.  However, this usually backfires as the friendship are not too genuine as they grow.

However, I would say that once a believer begins to understand the true love and grace of God, God will bring special Christian brethren into his/her life.  These brethren also understand more of the depths of the love of God.  God will form a bond of His love between the two because only His love will be on their minds.  It is such a freedom in the Lord to have brethren who just love and accept you as you are, and not according to behavior or performance.

Today, I actually find myself more often alone than with very close friends.  I rejoice in this because I have become closer intimately with my best friend Jesus.  I confidently know that I will never be alone again.  Knowing Jesus intimately is worth more than the intimacy of all my friends combined.  For Jesus and His love can never be measured.

I did NOT go looking for Christian friends.  I recommend you do NOT go looking for them either.  God gives me what I need when I need them.  That’s because one MUST FIRST develop a deep, intimate relationship with YOUR BEST FRIEND JESUS.  When the other brethren are not there, HE ALWAYS IS.

During my severe depression period, Jesus did not sustain me.  Instead, HE LITERALLY TOOK OVER.  HE SATISFIED ME.  Sustaining makes one hang in there.  Satisfaction in Jesus taking over one’s life.  Jesus took my hand and eventually my entire life.  NOT ONE BELIEVER WAS TRULY THERE for me when I went through severe depression for 17 years as a Christian.  Now I know why – because I only needed Him.  He needed to personally take over – to clear my mind with His thoughts.

Jesus personally taught me the true, full gospel – His death and resurrection.  He personally REMOVED ALL my pain and hurt.  The full joy of this removal is the second part; He replaced it with Himself.  He has trained my mind so well to know that I am NOW NEVER ALONE.  He is always there with me – when I awake and when I sleep.  He only desires me to make myself available as a channel of His divine activity.

Yes!  It truly is grace when HE only makes Himself real.  HE is so worth it.  He is so worth to have a deep personal relationship with.

HE IS LIFE.

HE IS LOVE.

HE IS OUR ALL IN ALL.

This I learned with not one true believer there for me.  I found my Best Friend.  He is so worth it.  Life now truly makes sense.

I encourage you to shut the door of your heart from all distractions, even away from “not true” believers.  He will purposely remove them.  He only desires deep, intimate love with you.  (You know well that nobody can ever have an intimate relationship with anyone unless they each have intimate, quality time together.)

Jesus wants to absorb your humanity into His divinity.  He “unconditionally” loves and ACCEPTS you just as your are – no strings attached.  Can you honestly believe that when God sees you He sees Jesus?

Reflect on Colossians 3:1-4 “If ye then be risen with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ sitteth on the right hand of God.  Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth.  For ye are dead, and your life is hid with Christ in God.  When Christ, [who is] our life, shall appear, then shall ye also appear with him in glory.”

Just pursue and maintain that intimacy.  THEN, He will supply the true friends you need – friends that only have a true love with Christ.

He then plans to totally take over your life.  He desires you to FACE THESE HURTS HEAD ON – whether they were your own fault or whether you were only an innocent victim.  This is the reality of life.

Remember Jesus stated in John 16:33 “These things I have spoken unto you, that in Me ye might have peace.  In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.”

Yes, we WILL have.  It is not if, but when.  This is only because of man’s fallen nature.  There is never any escape from it.  The solution is how we view these.  Will we view it from our eyes (and run) or through God’s eyes (and only see Jesus and His love?)  This is what awaits you.

Your life will now become His life.  What a privilege!  You have the benefit of watching and experiencing His love work in you and through you.  Yes, I assure you – His love will spread through you to a hurting world.  You have been hurt.  Therefore, you are well qualified to share His love with others who truly need it.

First, however, He MUST heal you totally and He will.

God will give you the DAILY EXPERIENCE of His very personal love for you.  You will experience DAILY the sweet fragrance of His roses of love.  (I only share from my own personal experience.  His love is NOW the only motivation in my life.)

 I pray for you consistently.  Yes, He will deliver you.  Keep that pure heart open.  I assure you that the Christian life is a true joy to experience daily – all because of our first, personal love.  He is calling you back to that.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

