Victory Over Depression Blog

(Healing & Victory Through Jesus Christ)

The Saving Life Of Christ

Every Christian reaches a crossroads in their Christian walk which they must make a pivotal decision.   They must answer a basic question.

The basic question is, “What does it take to BE a Christian?”  They know how to become a Christian, but this question really needs much focus on the Lord to answer it.

The sad experience is 90-95% of Christians do not have the true answer.  I know because I was one of them.  I thought I had to do my best for God in Christian ministry, but it was only my own self-effort in the flesh that just landed me in the desert wilderness.

The question is actually answered with another one: “How do I let God live through me?”   The answer is fortunately neither a formula nor a simple answer.  It basically is a way of life.  It is the renewing of our minds to see life through God’s perspective.

Jesus must be experienced on a daily basis in the midst of one’s life.  I would only suggest that to experience Him on a daily basis the following are critical to understand:

  1. The gospel is the Death and Resurrection of Jesus Christ.  Specifically, for today, that His resurrected life lives in you NOW.  That the cross destroyed our sins and sin nature.  (See Romans 6.)
  2. It takes Christ to BE the Christian.  Only He can live the Christian life.  It is His responsibility to produce fruit.  We are only to bear it.
  3. One must be absolutely convinced that Jesus personally loves him/her unconditionally and accepts him/her just as he/she is.

There are always many more to add, but these three are essential – a must to know.

Relating back to the original question: Experiencing Christ is to be a normal experience.  It is like walking, breathing, etc.  You just do it.

It is appropriated by faith.  “As you have received Christ Jesus, so walk ye in Him.”  How did you receive Him?  By faith.  Therefore, we walk by faith.

This makes you realize Paul’s verse from Galatians 2:20 “I have been crucified with Christ.  I no longer live.  Yet not I, but Christ lives in me.  The life I live I live by FAITH….”

Personally, I awake thinking of Jesus.  In my sleep, I think of Him.  Throughout the day, I literally visualize Him in me as my new nature, my new life.  I just truly love the Lord so much that it is automatically a joy to love Him.  I basically desire nothing else in life.  He certainly is my all in all.  Therefore, I appropriate by faith that for any decision I make it is Jesus doing it through me – with His love as the motivation.  The results are outstanding.  The rivers of living water flow out naturally.

One does not reach this level automatically, but through maturity.  The importance is INTIMACY WITH GOD.  One MUST be quiet with God often, absorbing His love.  The most effective way in this quietness is with the Word Of God.  Through the Word of God, God speaks to us the most.  But, we must quiet our inner self.  Otherwise, we can hardly ever hear Him.  He talks in a still small voice.  I would conclude that as you can hear His voice, you hear it on a more consistent basis.  That is friendship.  It has nothing to do with spiritual gifts.  Those come as God trusts the individual with them.

The Christian is to simply be alone with Him and reflect that He lives in you right NOW.  He will do the rest as you grow.  Mostly don’t talk, even non-verbally.  (That is why God gave us two ears and one mouth.)

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Saving Life Of Christ

  1. thank you for sending this to me. I really need this. i am so ill with this incurable disease it;s eating at my head now, and trying to pray. I get so lazy at praying cause i am consumed with this chronic pain and the medications make me ill, weak and sleep all the time. Please pray for me that i can get back in a closer walk with him Thanks bob

Leave a Reply

