Victory Over Depression Blog

(Healing & Victory Through Jesus Christ)

April 1, 1979 – April Fool’s Day – My Best Day Ever

April 1, 1979 – 32 years ago today I gave my life to Jesus Christ as my personal Lord & Savior.  I accepted Jesus’ death on my behalf for all my sins.  I accepted His Resurrection to conquer death.  I accepted His invitation for eternal life.  Jesus accepted my invitation to come take up residence in me 32 years ago.  I confidently say “It was the greatest decision I ever made.”

I was 22 at the time, about to graduate college, and was in the deepest depression of my life.  I did not understand how seriously depressed I was.  I was an insecure adolescence in an adult body.  I was getting a crash course in life.  My normal experience at the time was one of daily tears and nervous shaking whenever conflict or stress arose.  I was a people-pleaser and easily gave in to be accepted.  I was quite a basket case.  (Other blogs I have posted on this site give a more descriptive experience of the depression.)

So as the day of April 1, 1979 came around, I kept trying anything to make sense out of life, to have my broken heart healed.  (Can you relate?)  I was so desperate and how I wish some people really understood the deep pain my heart was experiencing.  No help came.  I almost reached the point of considering suicide.

Fortunately, I came to realize to give God a try.  God got my attention and was knocking on my heart’s door.  I knew about God growing up, but never considered what a relationship is.  I asked God that if really showed Himself to me and helped me, I was be glad to change my life and give it all to Him.

God honored my prayer.  The next day I was on Cloud 9.  Nothing bothered me anymore.  It was the deepest, personal experience of love in my heart I ever had.  It made me look above all my problems & insecurities because I now knew Jesus lived in me.  This experience stayed with me for a few months.  It was a deep burning passion every day.  It lasted this long because God knew I needed this long.  I was all by myself.  I had no friends to share this with.  It was just God and me.  I knew I had become born again.

April 1, 1979 was April Fool on the devil.  Amen!!!!!

It took many years for me to understand what a Christian needed to be.  I still needed the deep depths of my broken heart healed.  That’s why the depression persisted for another 17 years, despite knowing the Scripture so well.  It was not until I really applied by faith daily the reality of CHRIST IN ME that the healing began. (I have added many blogs sharing this freedom and reality up to where I am today.)

Now I only let Jesus live through me.  I pray that people see me they see JESUS IN ME.

JESUS IN ME is my victory.  32 years later I rejoice in the greatest choice I ever made.  CHRIST IN ME lives through me.  (May you also choose wisely.)

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

